Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle)

My feedback

  1. 1 vote
    Vote
    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      You have left! (?) (thinking…)
      planned  ·  2 comments  ·  NS Products » TouchPoint  ·  Admin →
      Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle) commented  · 

      Thanks! We have this planned and it's something we're trying to get to sooner rather than later.

    • 1 vote
      Vote
      Sign in
      Check!
      (thinking…)
      Reset
      or sign in with
      • facebook
      • google
        Password icon
        I agree to the terms of service
        Signed in as (Sign out)
        You have left! (?) (thinking…)
        Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle) commented  · 

        This tip / trick is a way to already do almost exactly what is being requested without waiting for a new feature to be built:
        https://www.opentest.co/share/4d0cf660a00311e6abfecb3b80bafc66

      • 22 votes
        Vote
        Sign in
        Check!
        (thinking…)
        Reset
        or sign in with
        • facebook
        • google
          Password icon
          I agree to the terms of service
          Signed in as (Sign out)
          You have left! (?) (thinking…)

          Thanks for the input @Samuel! We don't have an official API baked into it, BUT - the Cloner is rich with hooks and we built it specifically around the idea of a cloning pipeline that can be wired into from other plugins. It is VERY easy to use the Cloner's engine from anywhere within WP (or even outside WP if you load / include the main WP load file). Our own add-ons (especially Registration Templates) use the same mechanisms that are available to all plugins to tap into it / extend it / leverage it.

          Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle) shared this idea  · 
        • 1 vote
          Vote
          Sign in
          Check!
          (thinking…)
          Reset
          or sign in with
          • facebook
          • google
            Password icon
            I agree to the terms of service
            Signed in as (Sign out)
            You have left! (?) (thinking…)
            Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle) commented  · 

            Thanks for reporting this. Going to send you a new version of the plugin via email which should fix this issue.

          • 1 vote
            Vote
            Sign in
            Check!
            (thinking…)
            Reset
            or sign in with
            • facebook
            • google
              Password icon
              I agree to the terms of service
              Signed in as (Sign out)
              You have left! (?) (thinking…)
              Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle) shared this idea  · 
            • 1 vote
              Vote
              Sign in
              Check!
              (thinking…)
              Reset
              or sign in with
              • facebook
              • google
                Password icon
                I agree to the terms of service
                Signed in as (Sign out)
                You have left! (?) (thinking…)
                Never SettleAdminNever Settle (Technology Architecture, Never Settle) commented  · 

                Thanks, Joseph! To clarify this idea, and make sure we understand, can you maybe provide a couple additional details about your ideal scenario? It seems like it should already work this way. If you clone a template site (that doesn't have any pages / posts / forms / etc.) over an existing site it should wipe the existing site to start clean.

                Are you seeing different results?

                Or, are you wanting to clone an active site that has pages / posts / forms / etc. but then have an option to wipe the content from the source site after the cloning is complete?

                Have you tried the new Content behavior in 3.0.4 ? Selecting option #2 "Empty all posts... and clone the following post types..." and UNchecking all options so that no content is copied? Does that work for your scenario?

              Feedback and Knowledge Base